A Folder Called ‘Bollocks’ – Why Authors Should NEVER Respond to Reviews

Great read for authors. Although I have yet to publish, I do not always go by reviews for books/movies- especially because tastes vary! So I hope that a couple negative reviews would not discourage an author- or someone from buying. Honestly, now that I pretty much just read ebooks- I download the sample. If I love the sample I buy & that is how I judge a book for myself.
Enjoy the post!

Heather Hill, Author & Comedy Writer

Regular readers of my blog may recall I celebrated the much anticipated landing of my first one star review as an author, with a light-hearted blog post and a nod to fellow authors to try not to take them too seriously.

In the last month I have seen a few knee-jerk reactions to scathing reviews and am almost always saddened, especially when I find one very talented author I greatly respect saying, ‘I just feel like giving up’. But today I began to read this response to a book review from an author on Goodreads, and found I couldn’t read on. To say it felt like watching car crash TV was an understatement.

The first and most obvious thing that occurs to me here is how the author has succeeded in spending what must have been hours alienating a community of book lovers he will have spent hundreds more writer hours trying to…

View original post 990 more words

One thought on “A Folder Called ‘Bollocks’ – Why Authors Should NEVER Respond to Reviews

  1. This may be an instance that disproves the theory that there’s no such thing as bad publicity. The author in question is certainly getting some publicity out of his behaviour, but I don’t see him achieving more book sales from it. I think that in order to publish a book an author should be confident enough in the quality of the book that a bad review will not overly discourage them.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

